Bastia European capital of culture 2028, our Odissea

In October 2021, the City of Bastia officially applied for the European Capital of Culture label for the year 2028, with the intention of extending this application to the whole of Corsica: thus was born Bastia-Corsica 2028.

It has begun the first stage of the process of compiling its application file, which must be submitted by 1 December 2022, for pre-selection in the first half of 2023 and a final decision by a European committee of experts, which will be made public at the end of 2023, designating the two winning cities: one in France and one in the Czech Republic. This process is a strategic dimensions strategic importance for the whole of Corsica.re.

A major impetus has been created around the bid, which is in line with the strong political will of the elected representatives of the City of Bastia and the Community ofagglomThe European Commission has decided to set up the Bastia Regionof the Community of Corsica as well as theUniversity of CorsicaThe project will be implemented in cooperation with cultural, social, economic and environmental partners.
It is then a question of carrying, all together, a global development project where art and culture hold a central place for their educational and social cementing virtues, of opening to the world and of economic attractiveness. For the city and for Corsica it is a unique opportunity to introduce themselves to the world and to highlight the specialcificitThe European and island authorities.

We thank our partners

A universal culture

The islands are perceived by the mainlanders as natural colonies, just waiting to be subjugated, including culturally.
With this candidacy, Corsica is breaking away from its postcards and offering a unique cultural vision.

When Bastia becomes the European capital, everything is culture.
The island, like an immobile pirate ship, spreads its own vision of culture,
its interpretation of heritage, folklore and the Mediterranean as a whole. Through this city, a language and peoples radiate throughout Europe. Through this island, all the islands of Europe express themselves.

With this candidacy, Corsica is breaking away from its postcards and offering a unique cultural vision.

The pillars
strategic

Passing on culture

By choosing to renovate and adapt existing places, Bastia is making a modern choice. Our MUCEM will be digital and will reach out to all populations. Not a physical place, but audio and video content available 24/7 and above all free of charge.
Digital media through audio and video content is a new form of oral transmission. A modern tool to disseminate culture and involve the general public in the application.

A still boat

In 1964, Irish producer Ronan O'Rahilly saw his artists systematically rejected by English radio stations. So he decided to buy an old ferry and broadcast his own radio station from international waters.
Spreading culture from our immobile boat. A space of freedom to show what we don't see, what we don't broadcast. A floating, independent and creative laboratory to welcome talent from all over the world and to spread its influence over Europe. A vision of culture, art and openness on a European level.

A popular culture

When Jacques Tati arrived in Bastia in 1978 to film the popular fervour that animated the city on the eve of the UEFA Cup final, he was not making a sports documentary. He was filming a people who could turn anything into a cultural cultural object.
Bastia and Corsica as the vanguard of popular culture. Here everything becomes cultural and everything comes to life through artists and events. Once again, Corsica is reclaiming its culture and its territory thanks to its openness to the world and especially to Europe.

Impulse a change of look on Bastia and Corsica

Culture can be the bearer of new positive representations.
Behind these new representations lie important issues
for Bastia and Corsica in terms of economic development and sustainable, such as the establishment of cultural tourism, heritage, linguistic and sustainable, which offers a virtuous alternative to the seasonal and consumer logic of the seaside sector.
The Bastia Corsica 2028 bid is thus the chance for our city to and for our island to put culture back at the heart of our development economic, social and tourism aspects of our influence in Europe as in the Mediterranean.

Key dates

Opening of the call for applications
The project factory, our Odissea
Submission of the pre-application file
Pre-selection of the 4 candidate cities
Submission of the application and selection of the city
December 2021
Year 2022
2 January 2023
Week of 27 February 2023
December 2023

Culture in Europe

The European Commission supports a variety of actions, initiatives and awards in the cultural sectors.

In order to increase the visibility of the European cultural and audiovisual sectors, the European Commission supports various actions, initiatives and awards. These are designed to reward achievement, highlight excellence and raise awareness of European culture and heritage.

Bastia, Capitale Européenne de la culture

La Ville de Bastia s’est officiellement portée candidate en octobre 2021 au label de Capitale Européenne de la Culture pour l’année 2028 avec la volonté d’étendre cette candidature à tout le territoire corse : ainsi est née Bastia-Corsica 2028.

Elle a amorcé la première étape du processus de constitution de son dossier de candidature qui devra être remis le 1er décembre 2022, pour une présélection au premier semestre 2023 et une décision finale par un comité d’experts européen qui sera rendue publique fin 2023, désignant les deux villes lauréates : une en France et une en République Tchèque. Cette démarche revêt une dimension stratégique pour la Corse toute entière.

Un élan majeur s’est créé autour de la candidature, qui s’inscrit dans une volonté politique forte des élus de la Ville de Bastia et de la Communauté d’agglomération de Bastia, de la Collectivité de Corse ainsi que l’Université de Corse, en lien avec les partenaires culturels, sociaux, économiques et environnementaux.
Il s’agit alors de porter, tutti inseme, un projet global de développement où l’art et la culture tiennent une place centrale pour leurs vertus éducative et de ciment social, d’ouverture au monde et d’attractivité économique. Pour la ville et pour la Corse c’est une occasion unique de se présenter au monde et de mettre en lumière les spécificités insulaires et européennes.

Une culture universelle

Les îles sont perçues par les continentaux comme des colonies naturelles, qui n’attendent que d’être soumises, y compris culturellement.
La Corse, avec cette candidature, s’émancipe de ses cartes postales et propose une vision culturelle unique.

Quand Bastia devient capitale européenne tout est culture.
L’île tel un vaisseau pirate immobile diffuse sa propre vision de la culture,
son interprétation du patrimoine, du folklore et de la Méditerranée dans son ensemble. Au travers de cette ville c’est une langue et des peuples qui rayonnent sur l’Europe entière. Au travers de cette île ce sont toutes les îles d’Europe qui s’expriment.

La Corse, avec cette candidature, s’émancipe de ses cartes postales et propose une vision culturelle unique.

Les piliers
stratégiques

Transmettre la culture

En choisissant de rénover et d’adapter des lieux existants, Bastia fait un choix moderne. Notre MUCEM sera digital et ira à la rencontre de toutes les populations. Pas un lieu physique, mais des contenus audio et vidéo disponibles 24/24, 7/7 et surtout gratuit.
Les médias digitaux au travers des contenus audio et vidéo sont une nouvelle forme de transmission orale. Un outil moderne pour diffuser la culture et impliquer le grand public dans cette candidature.

Un bateau immobile

En 1964 le producteur Irlandais Ronan O'Rahilly voit ses artistes systématiquement refusés par les radios Anglaises. Il décide donc d’acheter un vieux ferry et diffuse sa propre radio depuis les eaux internationales.
Diffuser la culture depuis notre bateau immobile. Un espace de liberté pour montrer ce qu’on ne voit pas, ce qu’on ne diffuse pas. Un laboratoire flottant, indépendant et créatif pour accueillir les talents du monde entier et rayonner sur l’Europe. Une vision de la culture, de l’art et de l’ouverture au niveau Européen.

Une culture populaire

Quand Jacques Tati arrive à Bastia en 1978 pour filmer la ferveur populaire qui anime la ville à la veille de la finale de coupe UEFA, il ne fait pas un documentaire sportif. Il filme un peuple qui peut tout transformer en objet culturel.
Bastia et la Corse comme avant-garde de la culture populaire. Ici tout devient culturel et tout prend vie au travers des artistes et des événements. À nouveau la Corse se réapproprie sa culture et son territoire grâce à son ouverture au monde et surtout à l’Europe.

L’Europe au travers de la Corse

Culture europénne

La Corse a toujours créé des ponts avec le continent Européen. Notamment au travers d’échanges culturels avec des territoires proches et parfois très éloignés. Il reste encore beaucoup de choses à imaginer et souvent juste en face de notre île. Capraia, Elba ou encore Gênes sont juste là.
Le chanteur Génois Fabrizio De André avait mis la langue Ligure à l’honneur dans son album « Creuzä de ma ». Un album oublié aux accents culturels Corses. Cette candidature est l’occasion de tisser des liens forts avec l’Europe et nos voisins proches comme éloignés.